The three commissioners are the custodians of the home rule powers of the county. Counties have three commissioners, one from each district in the county. Within the scope of home rule, commissioners may adopt and vest themselves with additional regulatory powers.

All commissioners have the authority to pass ordinances in the following broad areas:

*Controlling, maintaining, and supervising county property including courthouses, jails and public offices.

*Supervising construction and maintenance of roads, bridges and to provide for traffic control.

*Developing economic development programs to attract and retain jobs within the county.

*To grant vacation pay, sick leave, paid holidays and other similar benefits to county employees.

*To administer elections in conjunction with the county election board.

*Auditing and authorizing payments on behalf of the county.

*To incorporate new towns and alter township boundary lines, on petition.

*Receiving bids and authorizing contracts.

*Exercising appointive powers including both the selection of members to fill positions on boards, commissions, and committees, and appointment of certain department heads.

*Planning and implementing strategies for solid waste handling as a member of the solid waste district boards.